Do you sell tickets for an event, performance or venue?
Sell more tickets faster with Eventfinda. Find out more. Find out more about Eventfinda Ticketing.

You missed this – Subscribe & Avoid FOMO!
Pluto IV Album Release Shows

Ticket Information

  • General Admission: $40.00 each
  • Additional fees may apply


  • Sat 23 Nov 2019, 8:00pm



Related Artists

Listed by

Banished Music

Pluto is a New Zealand rock band (mostly) based in Auckland. The group played their first concert together opening for Neil Finn in 2001 and have gone on to support the likes of Duran Duran, Crowded House, Muse, Gomez and The Dandy Warhols. They performed at the SXSW music festival in Austin, Texas twice, and made regular appearances at the Big Day Out.

Pluto’s most successful commercial release to date is their second album, Pipeline Under the Ocean (2005), which went double platinum on the RIANZ albums chart. The album’s lead single ‘Long White Cross’ won the 2006 Tui Award for Best Song of the Year. From the same album, ‘Dance Stamina’ took out the 2006 B-Net Award for Best Song of the Year.

In the late 90s, Milan Borich and Tim Arnold, residing in London at the time, teamed up to create Pluto. The duo began writing most of the songs that would become their first album “Red Light Syndrome”.

On Milan and Tim’s return to Auckland, Matthias Jordan, Mike Hall and Michael Franklin-Browne joined the band and they began recording Pluto’s debut album.

In 2001, the album “Red Light Syndrome” was released on Antenna. The debut album was praised by critics and embraced by college radio, but momentum stalled due to ongoing issues with the record label and the band had to wait to release their sophomore effort.

Eventually Pluto was freed from their contract with Antenna and immediately signed with EMI to release “Pipeline Under the Ocean”. The album gave the band wider appeal and a broader fan base. Off the back of the release, Pluto set forth on an extensive tour through New Zealand, Australia, USA and England.

In 2007, the band released their third album ‘Sunken Water’ with EMI before parting ways with the record company. Work then begun on their fourth album to be released on their own record label. The first single “Snake Charmer” was released in 2009… then… Pluto broke up.

Fast forward almost a decade and Pluto is back.

Sparked by the discovery of a back-up session of the unfinished fourth album, the band decided to pick up where they left off. The album is set to be released in September 2019 under their own company, 5 Moon Entertainment, with the first single “Oh My Lonely” leading the way in June 2019. This fourth album release will see the band play live once again.

Band Members: Milan Borich (lead vocals, guitar), Tim Arnold (lead guitar, vocals), Michael Franklin-Browne (drums), Mike Hall (bass guitar, vocals) and Matthias Jordan (keyboards, vocals).

Post a comment

Did you go to this event? Tell the community what you thought about it by posting your comments here!